Install erros - SQL error, command denied to user (General)

by dcrogers, Saturday, December 01, 2012, 16:12 (4161 days ago)
edited by dcrogers, Saturday, December 01, 2012, 17:10

Hello all, I'm VERY new to installing forums and running into an error with installing MLF. On the first step of the installation (entering Basic Settings, Admin, Database, etc...) I'm getting a long list of SQL errors like:

SQL error (MySQL: CREATE command denied to user 'myusername'@'myIPaddress' for table 'mlf2_banlists')

I don't know SQL or PHP so I'm really lost here. I've set permissions for the templates_c folder to '777' (also tried 770 and 775) and config/db_settings.php to '666'. Not sure what else to do!

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Install erros - SQL error, command denied to user

by Micha ⌂, Saturday, December 01, 2012, 16:20 (4161 days ago) @ dcrogers

Hi,

SQL error (MySQL: CREATE command denied to user 'myusername'@'myIPaddress' for table 'mlf2_banlists')

You don't have the right to create a table in the selected databse. Was this the first SQL-Error? Can you give the full list of errors? (Please make username/passwords unreadable)

regards
Micha

--
applied-geodesy.org - OpenSource Least-Squares Adjustment Software for Geodetic Sciences

by dcrogers, Saturday, December 01, 2012, 16:24 (4161 days ago) @ Micha

Thanks for the response. Here's most of the list (without real username and IP):

SQL error (MySQL: CREATE command denied to user 'myusername'@'myIPaddress' for table 'mlf2_categories')
SQL error (MySQL: CREATE command denied to user 'myusername'@'myIPaddress' for table 'mlf2_entries')
SQL error (MySQL: CREATE command denied to user 'myusername'@'myIPaddress' for table 'mlf2_settings')
SQL error (MySQL: CREATE command denied to user 'myusername'@'myIPaddress' for table 'mlf2_smilies')
SQL error (MySQL: CREATE command denied to user 'myusername'@'myIPaddress' for table 'mlf2_userdata')