Where to begin... (General)

by Cleo, Saturday, January 28, 2023, 21:33 (452 days ago)

Ok, I have MLF installed - I like the format a lot. I installed another theme I like as well. However...

I have no idea how to edit a site such as this, aside from the CSS. I understand the particular format relates to a template engine called Smarty - I am not experienced with, or familiar with this. I know how to edit HTML well, and PHP decently - I don't know how to even approach editing this code, though!

To use a hard example, say

I wanted to change something simple like change 'New topic' to 'Post topic' or wanted to change # of allowable characters in a form field. Where to even look? How to approach? Can the HTML be edited?

Any direction or guidance much appreciated, thank you!

Where to begin...

by Micha ⌂, Sunday, January 29, 2023, 10:47 (451 days ago) @ Cleo

Hello,

I have no idea how to edit a site such as this, aside from the CSS.

Please note, the template uses the compressed version of the CSS file.

I understand the particular format relates to a template engine called Smarty - I am not experienced with, or familiar with this. I know how to edit HTML well

If you are familiar with HTML, it is quite easy. Just open one of the template files e.g. the main.tpl. It is a HTML file with some specific Smarty code. For instance, the second line reads:

<html lang="{#language#}" dir="{#dir#}">

This line will be compiled to, for instance,

<html lang="de" dir="ltr">

The variables #language# and #dir# depend on your forum settings and relates to Smarty variables.

I wanted to change something simple like change 'New topic' to 'Post topic'

This is not a HTML or template issue. If you like to modify the labels, please take a look to the lang folder and edit the corresponding file.

/Micha

--
applied-geodesy.org - OpenSource Least-Squares Adjustment Software for Geodetic Sciences

Where to begin...

by Cleo, Sunday, January 29, 2023, 18:38 (451 days ago) @ Micha