Goodbye MLF (General)

by Wombat, Wednesday, September 02, 2020, 10:12 (1325 days ago)

I've been using MLF for two forums since 2004 but after 16 years and over 30,000 posts it was time to move on. This weekend I merged the two into a single Simple Machines installation.

Thanks to the all the developers for making MLF. Although I have chosen to abandon MLF it has served me well for most of the time. But in the later years it has become more and more evident that MLF hasn't managed to keep up with what users expect from a modern forum. The lack of a responsive design is of course one the reasons.

Anyway, keep up the good work!

Goodbye MLF

by Auge ⌂, Wednesday, September 02, 2020, 12:47 (1325 days ago) @ Wombat

Hello

I've been using MLF for two forums since 2004 but after 16 years and over 30,000 posts it was time to move on. This weekend I merged the two into a single Simple Machines installation.

I had to search in several attempts to find "Simple Machines Forum" :-). Other than the name implies, it's a board software. Anyway. How did you import the content of your two forums into the new one? The converter collection does not contain a converter for MLF.

Thanks to the all the developers for making MLF. Although I have chosen to abandon MLF it has served me well for most of the time. But in the later years it has become more and more evident that MLF hasn't managed to keep up with what users expect from a modern forum. The lack of a responsive design is of course one the reasons.

There are a few attempts for a responsive theme but none of them is ready to replace the old default theme from 2007.

Good luck.

Tschö, Auge

--
Trenne niemals Müll, denn er hat nur eine Silbe!

Goodbye MLF

by Wombat, Wednesday, September 02, 2020, 18:04 (1325 days ago) @ Auge

How did you import the content of your two forums into the new one? The converter collection does not contain a converter for MLF.