My forum (v2.0) is getting very slow, any suggestion? (General)

by Steven @, Tuesday, September 01, 2020, 14:50 (1305 days ago)

Hi Expert,

My forum is getting slower and slower. It could be cache problem. Anyone knows how to improve it. I don't know if new version resolve it.

Thank you,

Steven

My forum (v2.0) is getting very slow, any suggestion?

by shian, Wednesday, September 02, 2020, 13:47 (1304 days ago) @ Steven

Hi Expert,

My forum is getting slower and slower. It could be cache problem. Anyone knows how to improve it. I don't know if new version resolve it.

I'm not an expert for anything.

• 1. It could be a server problem. Maybe the server experience overload. Try to enter the forum in the middle of the night and see... if it's faster then the overload is on specific hours. (You can ask the server's admin).

• 2. Disable options that require a lot of CPU (some of the options/advanced options, like "how many users..." etc are not really necessary; disabling them will free CPU time and your forum will load faster).

• 3. If you made manual changes to the theme or anything else: shrink your file size by moving any HTML code to CSS, and also try to shrink the CSS file. Small theme will load much faster.

• 4. If your forum loads lots of images... Well, that's great yet images require more CPU time, so consider to disable avatars and uploading images.

• 5. Erasing & Reinstalling the forum (the same version) can solve some metaphysics problems which are not obvious. Recommended.

• 6. Very long threads can slow things - try to split very long threads into few smaller threads, it will save CPU time.

• 7. In your server's control panel disable "hot linking" - Maybe someone is downloading large files/images directly from your forum/site, using another site?

• 8. Make sure that the size of images is reasonable - Large images (50K +) will become a bottleneck soon or later.