Gzip compression? (General)

by Andrew M., Thursday, March 05, 2009, 16:55 (5502 days ago)

Hi,

I am pretty new to mlf 2.* and I have been working all my way through the documentation now, still I have not found info on Gzip compression. Whether this is used by mylittleforum or, if not or just recommended, how to implement it.

Thanks!

Andrew

Gzip compression?

by Auge, Thursday, March 05, 2009, 17:39 (5502 days ago) @ Andrew M.

Hello

I am pretty new to mlf 2.* and I have been working all my way through the documentation now, still I have not found info on Gzip compression. Whether this is used by mylittleforum or, if not or just recommended, how to implement it.

Isn't this a server issue? Elsewhere the script has look for the "Accept-Encoding" Header, which is transmitted by the browser (or not) to decide if it has to compress the output or not. But in my opinion this is servers business.

Tschö, Auge

Thanks!

by Andrew M., Friday, March 06, 2009, 09:27 (5501 days ago) @ Auge

Hi Auge,

a friend of mine has worked with 1.7.* and told me once there is would be a Gzip code in 'inc.php' that lowers web traffic by 50 percent. I am using 2.0.2 since a couple of days and thought if his info is true, this would be part of documentation. It was not, though I wanted to ask about it here.

Thanks

Andrew M.

Thanks!

by Auge, Friday, March 06, 2009, 12:04 (5501 days ago) @ Andrew M.

Hello

a friend of mine has worked with 1.7.* and told me once there is would be a Gzip code in 'inc.php' that lowers web traffic by 50 percent.

I searched in my copy of mlf 1.7.6. No, this file contains no gzip functionality.

I am using 2.0.2 since a couple of days and thought if his info is true, this would be part of documentation. It was not, though I wanted to ask about it here.

As a possible solution I suggest to ask your hoster if gzip compression is activated or if it is possible to activate it on the webserver.

Tschö, Auge

gzip fine with me...